jump to navigation

Blog Comments February 16, 2010

Posted by Chris Yates in PRCA 3330-Blog Comments.
trackback

*Blog Comment#1

Topic of the Week: Favorite Super Bowl Commercial: Week 5 by Matt Cook

     Yeah that was a good one. There’s always some good humorous ads during the big game and I can’t help but laugh at almost all of them. I’m disappointed that some of the beer companies didn’t have standout commercials this year (at least in my opinion). The Superbowl commercials are getting so “commercial” that it seems harder and harder to come up with a funny, original idea. The commercial that impressed me the most however was Google’s ad. It was simple, showed off the search engeine’s interface, convinces you that Google can be used for pretty much anything nowadays. Anyone else like the Google ad?

2/15/10

*Blog Comment # 2

FACEBOOK Mobile Now Bigger than TWITTER by Lindsay Addison

     Very interesting article. I’ve found myself wondering about the “Facebook vs. Twitter” debate a lot the past couple of weeks. I’ve used Twitter before for a job I had a little over a year ago, but I wasn’t very impressed with it back then. Now however, it seems as like the interface works a little bit better (for example, Twitter used to bog down occasionally because of “too many tweets”) and a lot more people are active. It’s simple and, at least I think, is a lot easier to use than Facebook. Facebook is a totally different type of online experience though. It provides users with access to more personal information. I remember reading somewhere earlier this year that Twitter membership had peaked, but I wouldn’t count them out. I can see it becoming just as big as Facebook.

2/25/10

*Blog Comment # 3

Superbowl Google Ad Topic of the week 5 by Nicole Barlow

     Yes, the Google ad was my favorite as well! Normally I like the funny commercials during the Super Bowl (Bud-Light always delivers) or the really intense visual spectacles (Coca-Cola for example). But the Google ad this year takes the cake in my opinion. Why did everyone like this commercial so much? The only thing we saw the whole time was the search engine bar and what the person was typing into it. This is what makes it so good though. It tells a story and gets the audience emotionally involved with just these simple elements. Also, I bet the ad was a huge success for Google because it probably didn’t cost much to make.

2/25/10

*Blog Comment #4

NEWS! News! GET YOUR NEWS!! by Haley Barnes

     Determining what is newsworthy might seem like a difficult question at first, but once you realize what “newsworthy” means, it becomes a bit clearer. I’m much like you and your friends, I get my news from a variety of different sources. I like to know what’s going on in politics, sports, entertainment, etc. There’s just so much information out there though. I constantly come across pieces of “news” that I deem to be garbage and a waste of time. But to others, the very same thing is newsworthy. So this is really the challenge for those who work with media, determining how to evolve with the trends and satisfy as many people as possible.

2/25/10

*Blog Comment #5

Twitter in Retrospect by Lauren Woodward

     Yes, I agree that Twitter could use a few tweaks here and there to make it more appealing to a wider audience. For one thing, the simplicity of the interface really limits what you can do. Websites that compete with Twitter, such as Facebook, are much more versatile in the ways they can be used. I think this has been the main disadvantage for Twitter. But on the other hand, Twitter’s simplicity is kind of what makes it so great in the first place. Users can send messages or update their status with just a few clicks, and without wading through a bunch of distracting photos and personal items. For now at least, I think Twitter will happily coexist with the other social networking sites.

3/1/10

*Blog Comment #6

Tiger Woods by Allie Harrington

     I am both a fan of golf and Tiger Woods’ accomplishments, so I was upset to hear about the scandal. I’m really disappointed in Tiger, but I never got bent out of shape like a lot of other people did about the apology. The reason is that “Tiger Woods” is a brand. He was essentially apologizing on behalf of the brand and for his sponsors, which he definitely should do. For such a personal matter though, he probably doesn’t feel like he owes any outsiders and apology for a private mistake. I think that’s why the apology sounded so insincere.

3/1/10

Blog Comment #7

10 Reasons People Aren’t Commenting on Your Blog by Brian Wallace

     Thanks for the post, this is very helpful. I am a Public Relations student at Georgia Southern University, and currently enrolled in a PR writing course. One of the requirements for the class is to create and maintain a blog throughout the semester. The most difficult aspect of the assignment so far has been getting comments on my page. There are definitely some things I can do to make it a little more interesting. I also think you’re correct in your suggestion to comment more on others’ blogs. This is something relatively easy that I should get into the habit of doing. Thanks for the advice.

3/1/10

*Blog Comment #8

Employees Using Social Media Can Give Companies a Nasty Virus by David Mullen

     You make some good points here. This is really a situation that is still rapidly evolving. As more people continue to adopt Web 2.0 applications and use them in their everyday lives, it could become increasingly difficult to govern its usage. It seems like there are some ethical considerations to be made here by management and employees of their respective businesses. Perhaps we’ll start to see a trend in universities where guidelines for internet usage in the workplace are more thoroughly discussed. Especially since more and more companies are in some way relying on feedback from the online community.

3/1/10

*Blog Comment #9

PRCA 3330: Addicted to Twitter (TOW #7) by Carrie Abramson

     I can’t help but agree with you and share your enthusiasm about Twitter. It really surprised me to find how much businesses are relying on this website for communications with friends, clients, and so forth. It really has become a legitimate tool that can be used in the classroom as well. As for being obsessed with it, I don’t know if I like it that much yet. I will say that I appreciate much more now. Last year, I had a job which required me to monitor the Twitter community, and I wasn’t that crazy about it. The situation is different now, however, as more and more people are accepting it. I think it’s safe to say that I’ll be using Twitter regularly from now on.

2/25/10

*Blog Comment #10

PR Connection #3 by Lauren Stevens

     I thought it was hilarious to see Bullock accept the Razzie in person. It’s just like her though, she seems like a good sport. The move to accept that type of award is a brilliant move I think. If she had done nothing or acted upset about it, she could lose her down-to-earth image that people associate her with. Also, I think that she tapped into a very human aspect of movie watching: For some reason, people like to watch bad movies and witness bad action. It’s strange but true, so even though she doesn’t really need the publicity, it’s keeping her name out there and reminding people that she’s a cool person.

3/11/10

*Blog Comment #11

PR Connection #4 by Shelley Martin

     Yeah, everybody’s watching this show for one class or the other this semester. I think it’s important for someone studying PR to be familiar with the way pop culture portrays the practice. Since we are being trained to deal with different publics and their various perceptions (including their perceptions of us), Kell on Earth seems like a fairly relevant show to watch. There’s a few things I’ve spotted, like how certain stereotypes of PR and fashion professionals are used. You can also see how some of the communication theories are applied in the show, especially conflict resolution and contingency theory.

3/11/10

*Blog Comment # 12

Week 16 by Lo Woodward

     This is a pretty good list of tips. I think the overall idea is to make your blog as interesting as possible. Like you said, if you wouldn’t want to sit down and read it, then it might not be interesting enough. And you definitely have to have some sort of interest in the subject. Not only does it show in your writing, but I think it makes the writing experience much more enjoyable and rewarding. I like #3 too, it’s hard to keep up with your blog on a daily basis, but the more you write the easier it gets. The links you gave at the end are pretty helpful too, there’s some good ideas there.

4/21/10

*Blog Comment #13

PR Connection #3 by Sharita Wilkinson

     Great article! I think the author is giving great advice here, and it can apply to pretty much any PR or business situation. Being able to take action quickly and effectively is a crucial skill that anyone working with communications should know well. This is especially true if you are an intern or new hire, or if you find yourself working in a competitive environment. Employers promote people who are comfortable with making decisions under pressure. If you don’t learn to think fast, your boss may end up thinking you are an indecisive person.

4/21/10

*Blog Comment #14

PR Connection 5  by Lauren Whitener

     Parents do influence what their kids eat whether we realize it or not.  It doesn’t surprise me to see that McDonald’s is concerned about the “momosphere” and has gotten the ball rolling on their response. They have a long history of dealing with criticism. They seem to have done a good job of responding to the “Super-Size Me” documentary. They basically amped up their marketing and started putting “healthier” alternatives on their menus, which worked. I think they’ll have no problem navigating the blogosphere. That being said, their statement is a good example to follow. Blogging is about building relationships, and the best way to maintain them is through respect for fellow bloggers.

4/22/10

*Blog Comment #15

TIGER WOODS: Crisis Management  by Jasmine Stewart

     I totally agree with you on this topic. My main reaction when I first heard about this back in December was that it seemed as if they were trying to cover something up. It might be unfair to judge the situation outright before all the facts are heard, but the way in which they responded to this crisis gave cause for speculation. By delaying his response, Tiger’s publicists gave the whole country plenty of time to jump to conclusions. Another great example of this type of crisis is Ben Roethlisberger’s situation. His response was delayed as well and we really didn’t hear much from him until after the prosecution dropped the charges. It makes it look like he’s waiting on an opportunity to pick a stance based on the current situation, instead of just owning up to his mistake.

4/22/10

*Blog Comment #16

Times are Changing  by Becca Thomas

     This is something that everyone should get on board with. Throughout the past decade, Georgia Southern has built a reputation as one of the best values in the country. This has been a huge draw for many students, and as a result, the university has grown. Nobody wants to see tuition go up, and I certainly don’t like that these budget cuts may tarnish GSU’s reputation. As a PR student, I think in addition to writing our representatives, we should create a strong online presence in opposition of the budget cuts. Blogging is a great way to start. Facebook and Twitter would be useful as well.

4/22/10

*Blog Comment #17

PR Connections: So why do I get negative reactions from people when I tell them I’m minoring in PR?   by Matt Cook

     I feel you on this subject Matt, I get very similar reactions when I reveal what my major is.  I think this is the bottom line:  Nobody really understands what public relations is and what it is used for.  Have you ever tried explaining PR to someone else, only to find it difficult to relate the concepts to him/her?  It’s difficult because PR professionals get a bad rap for being “flacks” or resorting to sly propaganda tactics. As we all know, this simply is not true, but in a way it reinforces some of the concepts that we learn in our PR classes.  There are just certain conventional ways of thinking about something people don’t understand, and I think that is one of the true challenges for a public relations professional.

4/25/10

*Blog Comment # 18

PRCA 3330: TOW #13  by Carrie Abramson

     This is a pretty good list. I would slowly start to lose my mind if I had to deal with some of these issues. After all, we are supposed to be in a field that is specialized and requires the utmost amount of professionalism. It’s sad that some people just don’t have the right manners. Overuse of spin and hype definitely should be avoided, so I agree with you there. If the story looks and sounds like it isn’t newsworthy, then it probably isn’t; no amount of puffery can save it. By the way, I liked your use of the video at the end, that was a good touch.

4/25/10

*Blog Comment #19

10 Tips to Bloggers 🙂  by Haley Barnes

     Great list! Lots of good ideas and very thorough. I especially like #7. I would be furious if I knew that someone was copying my work without my permission. That’s really the cardinal rule for academics, and in the professional world, it can get you fired. If you find something cool on someone else’s blog that you want to use or write about, why not contact them and ask their permission? It’s the right thing to do and it even helps your own networking and communication skills. And you’re right, blogging can be fun so it’s important to keep a good attitude and avoid negativity (unless you’re blasting the state legislature for education budget cuts!)

4/25/10

*Blog Comment #20

     I’m not a big fan of Lady Gaga or the curiously spelled “Ke$ha,” but I have to respect them for being the at the top of their genre and pretty much dominating compact disc and mp3 sales in the past year. It’s interesting that you included some youtube videos, because I think that the proliferation of their music on social media sites really helps their publicity. This is kind of off the subject of the sing/talking/rapping genre that Erica described, but think back to the very beginning of Youtube. OK Go’s “Here We Go Again” was a viral smash that simultaneously put their band as well as Youtube on the map. This is the new age of marketing music to both young and old people, and since the OK Go video (I think it was 2006), no one seems to care anymore that MTV doesn’t play music.

4/25/10

*Blog Comment # 21

Batter Blaster Advertisements #11  by Wynn Kennedy

     Wow I never would have thought about pancakes in a can…what a crazy idea. At first I was thinking that it couldn’t possibly taste very good, but why not try them? If I ever see them in the grocery store I’m going to get some. I think the biggest advantage of this product is taking it on a camping trip. I agree with you though, the guy that created this product should market it towards children. It seems like it would be a fun activity for kids on a Saturday morning.

4/27/10

*Blog Comment #22

Taking A Step Back: Reflecting On Your PR Career  by Kate Kavanaugh

     This is an important thing to consider when you’re looking for a job as well as throughout your career. I believe that it’s very important to enjoy what you do for a living and be comfortable with the direction you’re going in. If you start having doubts or second thoughts, it may be an indication that you aren’t happy. A public relations degree doesn’t just limit you to a handful of possibilities though. I think it’s important to keep in mind that as a PR major, you have solid communication skills, which is at the top of every employer’s wish list. This leaves you with a lot of options when it comes to making career decisions.

4/27/10

*Blog Comment #23

     PR Connection 2  by Janee Spence

     I’ve seen it all now. Can you really call this thing a sandwich? I guess KFC is determined to change the way we look at chicken sandwiches. It makes me wonder how the other fast food chains will respond to this, especially the ones that rely heavily on sales from chicken sandwiches (Wendy’s, Chik-fil-A, Zaxby’s, etc.). This is a pretty good example at innovative marketing, because like you, I had never heard of anything like this and probably would have thought it was a joke as well. But nobody else has anything like it right now so I bet they’re doing pretty well with it so far.

4/27/10

*Blog Comment #24

TOW 16: Top 10 Tips For Bloggers  by Michelle Vegliante

     Great list of ideas! I can definitely put some of these tips to use on my own blog. You know, it’s funny that you mention to use spell check when writing blog posts. It seems like a common sense thing to do, but I actually had not been using it for about half of the semester. When I went back and proofread my blog, spell check found a BUNCH of spelling errors that I had missed before. I like your idea about blog comments too. I hadn’t really been thinking about replying to the comments that have been posted on my blog, but it makes sense to do it.

4/27/10

*Blog Comment #25

Samantha “Sex and the City”  by Kayle Hutchins

     You’re right about the show Sex and the City. It does portray negative sterotypes about the PR profession (as well as a number of other things). There’s a lot of other TV shows and movies that do the same thing. In my PR senior seminar class, we looked at several works of fiction that dealt with public relations. Our goal was to get an idea of why pop culture portrays PR the way it does. My take on the whole thing is simply that writers and producers of television shows are looking to entertain people. The fact is that a PR professionals life is not full of cocktail parties and expensive dinners, but that is what people want to see.

4/27/10

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

